The Talentless Chump

http://thetalentedchimp.wordpress.com/2010/10/23/how-i-became-an-atheist/

I became an atheist by being born.

The wicked are estranged from the womb; they go astray from birth, speaking lies. Psalm 58:3

This is not a flippant answer; religion, faith and God never made sense to me from the get go. I simply didn’t believe any of it.

For the word of the cross is folly to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God. 1 Corinthians 1:18.

However, had I been exposed to one of the more shrill and strident religions (see what I did there?) I still don’t think it would have had any effect on me. I just don’t think I’m that kind of person.

For the wrath of God is revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and unrighteousness of men, who by their unrighteousness suppress the truth. Romans 1:18

It wasn’t until about two decades later that I started to learn why I didn’t believe what I didn’t believe. And I’m still learning.

He who sits in the heavens laughs; the Lord holds them in derision. Psalm 2:4

10 Comments to “The Talentless Chump”

  1. The cleverest part of this post is the word-play on the title of my blog. The rest of it is meaningless preaching. Sorry. Thank you for playing.

  2. Your entire atheist experience is consistent with Christian theology. You’re a living testimony of unbelief, and described your unbelief according to Christian theology. 🙂

  3. Yes, Talented Chimp, your unbelief and reasons for it are very consistent with the Bible. Thanks for playing.

  4. “Apparently you’re lacking in intelligence as well – since when does demonstrating that your experience is consistent with Christian anthropology mean we’re arguing anything at all?”

    What on earth is “Christian anthropology”? Is it like real anthropology except that all human activity can be explained by a carefully selected quote from the Bible?

    And if we’re not arguing, why are you? Why state that my “entire atheist experience is consistent with Christian theology” if you aren’t trying to argue the point that the Bible is the true word of your god because it has all these clever explanations for why people might not believe in its god?

    And if we’re not arguing anything at all, it must mean that, through the lens of your faith, you believe that you’re right and I am wrong, and consequently not worth arguing because my position is so obviously untenable. If you had thought me worth arguing, you would have done so and not posted meaningless Bible verses. So, why post in the first place?

    My entire life may be a biblical cliché. But that still doesn’t mean that anything in the Bible contains anything that is factually true. So, again, why post anything in the first place?

    • One more time for the mental rodent, I did not use this blogpost as an argument to further the truth of the Christian faith, or offer it as a basis for establishing the coherence of Christianity in any sense. The intended audience isn’t for reptiles such as yourself.

  5. Since when, Javier, is calling people “mental rodents” and “reptiles” consistent with the teachings of love, compassion and turning the other cheek as taught by Jesus Christ in the Bible? You might be able to quote lots of Bible verses, but this makes me seriously question how much you actually understand.

Leave a Reply

